IACE Courseware


On October 23, 2006, Missouri S&T received certification from the National Security Agency (NSA) of its Information Assurance courseware as mapping to 100% of the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS) National Standards 4011 (National Training Standard for Information Systems Security (INFOSEC) Professionals) and 4014E (Information Assurance Training Standard for Information Systems Security Officers (ISSO)). This Information Assurance Courseware Evaluation (IACE) Program implements a process to systematically assess the degree to which the courseware from commercial, government, and academic sources maps to the national standards set by the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS). This was a joint effort between Missouri S&T's departments of Computer Science, Computer Engineering, and Missouri S&T-IT. The IACE Program is currently managed by the National Information Assurance Education and Training Program Office within the Information Assurance Directorate at NSA. The goal of the IACE Program is to expand the use of national standards in information assurance education and training throughout the nation. These standards were developed for the government, but have been kept unclassified to share with the greater IA community.


To meet Missouri S&T's IACE Courseware certification a student needs to take the following courses:

  • CpE 5420 - Introduction to Network Security
  • CpE 6510/SysEng 6322 - Resilient Networks
  • CS 3800 - Introduction to Operating Systems
  • CS 4700 - Intellectual Property for Computer Scientists
  • CS 5601 - Security Operations & Program Management
  • CS 5600 - Computer Networks

More information on NSA's IA Courseware Evaluation Program can be obtained at: http://www.nsa.gov/ia/academia/iace.cfm